1910 Australia Florin – King Edward VII

Pre-Decimal Coins

Commonwealth Pre Decimal coins began with the first minting of Australia’s first uniform currency in 1910. Only the silver coins valued at threepence, sixpence, one shilling and a florin were minted in that first year. In the following year production turned over to the copper coins of the halfpenny and penny in 1911.

Only four monarchs appeared on pre decimal coins in Australia. These were King Edward VII in 1910, King George V 1911-1936, King George VI 1938-1952 and Queen Elizabeth II from 1953-1964.

The two shilling coin known as a Florin had four commemorative releases. One for the opening of the original Parliament House in 1927, one for centenary of Victoria and the establishment of Melbourne, another for 50 years of the Commonwealth of Australia and the last for the visit to Australia of Queen Elizabeth II on 3rd Feb 1954. all four coins are highly collectible.

The rarest of the pre decimal coins are the 1916 halfpenny with Indian quarter anna obverse. To date only 5-7 specimens have been sighted.Then there is the 1920 London obverse penny with a dot over lower scroll. Of these there are only 4 specimens recorded. And of course the legend above all being the holy grail or the 1930 One Penny coin which has achieved record breaking sums for near mint examples.

Production ceased on these pre decimal coins with the introduction of decimal currency into Australia in 1966.

Noteworthy Collectibles stocks a wide range of these coins for collectors in varying grades and price ranges to suit everyone.

Showing 1–20 of 66 results