1 in stock



The coin on offer here is in remarkable condition for its age. The Deutsches Reich formerly known as Prussia had it struck to mark 100 years of the defeat of the Napoleonic Army. Given that it has seen the turmoil of two world wars it has come through it all in beautiful condition.

The strike is clean and there is very little that is not to like. The reverse strike is great and the eagle and snake are in fantastic condition. This image being an allegory for the Germans striking at Napoleon. On the flip side we see the King of Prussia Wilhelm II mounted on horseback with his adoring people coming to his call as they assemble to defeat Napoleon. It to is also in pretty good detail.

Overall the coin grades at Extra Fine. The rim has a few small marks but these are very minor. It is without doubt one of the most beautiful coins minted by the Prussian state. 

If looking to fill the gaps in your collection then you would be hard pressed to pass on this lovely example.

Additional information



Country:     German states (Prussia)  Centenary of Liberation
Year:         1913
Value:        3 Mark (3)
Metal:         Silver (.900)
Weight        6.6670 g
Diameter:    33 mm
Thickness:  2.37 mm
Catalogue:  J.110

Obverse: Wilhelm II mounted on horseback rallies his people. Lettering above : The King called and all came  Below: With God for King and Fatherland

Reverse: Eagle with snake in talons with denomination below.  “Eagle strikes snake” as an allegory for 100 years of victory over Napoleon.

Edge Lettering: GOTT MIT UNS (God is With Us)


Prussia  is undoubtedly one of the most influential states in the formation of modern day Germany which began its rule in the 13th century.

It is an historic state which was ruled for several centuries by the House of Hohenzollern. Through a great deal of strategic maneuvering with its army it brought together in 1871 the disparate German states under one banner of the German Empire.

All of this lasted until 1918 at the end of World War I during the German revolution when the monarchies were abolished in favor of republic named the Free State of Prussia.

The next turning point for the state was the arrival of the Nazi regime which forced the state to lose its independence during the Prussian Coup. After the Nazi regime collapsed at the end of 1945, Germany was divided by the allied forces in to four states or allied occupation zones.

Today Germany has 16 Bundesländer or states which collectively are referred to as the Federal Republic of Germany.

You may also like…